70.3 Ironman World Championships – Sunshine Coast

image

Fond memories of sunny coast from a previous race and made special having my family and the Fluid movements & MTCers (both athletes and support crew) here. πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ‘―. Lots of giggles and smiling faces made this one special.
Was feeling the pressure a little though; only 4 weeks prior to this race I had started my run/walk program having had a left Achilles injury post IMOZ. The weeks leading up to this, I was mentally struggling to believe I could even finish the run -uninjured – for the big dance in Hawaii 🌴🐒🐬. Having all my friends and family around provided me with the belief and attitude to enjoy the day. β˜€οΈπŸ™.
The plan : to go hard in the swim & bike and hold on at the run.

Swim 🏊 – calm and flat. Saw a turtle swim under me 🐒 – magical. 29 mins (6th out of the water).

Bike 🚴 – flat initially with a head wind back and then the hills – oh boy the climb 😬 was looking forward to seeing it and getting it out of the way! I made the right decision to use this race as a training day – (I chose not to wear race wheels or an aero helmet) and it paid off having the 2nd fastest bike split by 20 secs (2 hrs 39 mins) and 3rd off the bike in my AG. πŸ’ͺπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰.

Run πŸƒ – started to get hot and windy (coming out of training in MelbΒ winter!) and pushed hard in theΒ first lap then the wind picked up on the second lap. Felt good until approx 16 kms (ironic given this was the longest I’d run since IMOZ) but I held on with the support of Ferg and the girls, Foz, JD, the Atlees, Laura, Lesley and her family amongst other friends. (1 HR 46 mins).

Lucky number 13 πŸŽ‰ in AG out of 176 (119th overall female out of approx 1500) πŸ‘πŸŽ‰πŸ’ͺπŸ….

Congratulations to all those who qualified for the Half Ironman World Championships – it’s the journey which makes it special and I was lucky to share it with a great bunch of friends. Thanks to all the spectators and volunteers who make it happen. To Cory Prout, my physio for getting my body into shape and providing me with the initial rehab and run / walk program. Sean Foster, my coach who helped me get stronger on the swim & bike and then to incorporate my run at the right time. πŸ’ͺπŸ‘. TheΒ fluid / MTC training buddies πŸŠπŸš΄πŸƒπŸ’•πŸŽ‰πŸΎ. Lastly and most importantly The Big 4 –Β Team Ferg πŸ’•πŸ’œ.

Next stop – IM World Champs – Kona. πŸŒ΄πŸ™πŸ¬πŸ’•β˜€οΈπŸ˜Ž.

 

 

Leave a Reply

