Geelong 70.3 IM

Geelong race day brief 😎

Swim 🏊

Goal – To get some fast feet on the way past !!

Beach start. Went out hard. 3 fast girls went past individually – Plan A, B, C went out the door pretty quickly 😳!
Plan D – Got into a rhythm, focussed on sighting and enjoyed the open water swimming.

29 minutes πŸ’ͺ – 4th out the water

Ride 🚴

Goal – to do my thing and keep cool (30c)

Had to make up ground so pushed more than normal for 70.3 distance. Past 1st girl quickly then caught up to 2nd girl (grey girl!) then saw final competitor (green girl) – used her to pace, then past her on the hills (as I knew I’d done the work with my training buddy πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘)

Lots of surging in first lap between us. Got Windy. All 3 of us came in to town together on the first lap. Crowd was going off. Stayed calm 😎.
2nd lap got hot. Got rid of sis and grabbed water at every aid station to chuck over head, neck and arms. Felt strong on 2nd lap – checked in with self every 5 minutes – am I hot ? Thirsty ? Am I going too hard or do I feel ok ? “Uber bike” kept popping into my head πŸ˜πŸ˜€.

2 hrs 38 min – 1st off the bike

Run πŸƒ

Goal – run forest run and just hold on!!

Hot run – worked hard and paced easily on the 4 hills of each lap – VMO almost cramped on first hill 😳. Threw water on head every aid station and used ice. Saw green and grey girl 48 secs behind me pacing together at 6kms – they were working together to catch me 😳😎 – stayed calm. Held on to 15kms πŸ’ͺ.
Started to feel the heat & hills. Told mind and legs to shut up – focussed on light – had “Hall of fame” ringing in my ears.
Got to last little hill at 18 kms and green girl took me. Grey girl seemed to have died! Thought of the tan (3-4 kms to go) used crowd πŸŽ‰
Finished it off πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘πŸ’ͺ

1 hr 38 mins (3rd)

Thanks to all my friends who cheered me on atΒ race day, my Physio Cory Prout who got me back on the horse after an Achilles injury, my swim training buddy Danae Sinclair and my IM Bike/Run training buddy Gav Slater.

Happy to say I qualified for the 70.3 IM world championships in Mooloolaba πŸ’ͺπŸŽ‰.

Message post race from Molly :- Love you mummy go go go β€οΈπŸš€

Leave a Reply

