Sunshine Coast 70.3 Half Ironman World Championships

Just thought I’d share with you my news from my Half Ironman race at Sunshine Coast on Sunday 14th September. This was a 1.9km swim, 90km ride and a 21.1km run.

The purpose of this race was to practice my race strategy (nutrition, pace, hydration etc) for the big event that awaits me – The Ironman World Championships or as known in the triathlon world, “Kona”, held in 3 weeks time on the lava fields of the Big Island in Hawaii.

I came 2nd out of the water which was supposed to be a 1.9km swim (it turned out to be 2.1km!) in approx 30 mins, 5th off the 90km ride (after having cramp in my left leg the entire leg and a malfunction on the bike) in 2 hrs 34 mins but managed to have the fastest run of 1hr 35 mins overall in my age group making up 3 places to come 2nd overall,

As you can imagine, I was thrilled with 2nd in my age group (24th female overall) and qualified for the Half Ironman World Championships in Austria next year, which I turned down to give someone else the opportunity to go, as the spot rolls down.

Ive attached a couple of snaps – my photo before the race with my bike, the presentation/podium and one of myself enjoying the result, having worked out the trophy could be put to use in other ways!

I would like to thank my team for their support, Marcus for his ongoing support and NAB which continues to support me.

Next stop, the Ironman World Championships in Hawaii on Saturday 11th October. Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

